RSS

Ciao Italy and Hiya London.

04 Jul

I mentioned in my previous blog that we were climbing the hills to eat in a little restaurant in the clouds. After winding and twisting around some hairpin turns and ascending 4 kms, we arrived at paradise. I gasped while alighting from the battered mini bus. The flowers were threaded amongst the trees, creating a canopy that framed an endless ocean vista. We entered the restaurant via stone stairs the weaved through enormous veggie patches( where our food was harvested)and sat at a trestle table, lit with candles. The kids spied the bread bowl and before I could shout “that is the first of 7 courses’ they had wolfed down several rolls. Veggies were first and we feasted on peas, eggplant, chickpeas and spinach. The boys did not leave a single pea on the plates. Pasta was presented on platters, laden with shining, fresh tomato sauce and generous spoonfuls of pesto. I knew I had to hold back in preparation for subsequent courses but it was virtually impossible. The meats arrived, sizzling and reminiscent of portions served in Bedrock. Huge, rare and perfectly seasoned. Our convex bellies won over in the end. The sweet cakes and tiramisu remained on the silver serving trays, barely touched.

We also squeezed in a trip to Capri. We jumped on a ferry and motored on over to this island that must have been spectacular in its time. we queued for tickets( I am so over queues, the travelers curse) and boarded cable cars that travelled vertically to the town’s heart. Hundreds of tourists, exclusive shops and overpriced restaurants awaited. It was good to see, however, I think Positano is superior.

We travelled back to Rome via ferry and train. Then queued with returning Brits to catch a flight to the UK. The children were bemused after several passengers asked us if we were speedy boarders. If you pay an extra 10 squid, you are able to board the plane first. So the speedy boarders muscled their way to front of the large snaking line. Tom loved asking people in his best cockney accent, “Are you a speedy border?”

After delays, seats that didn’t recline and countless games of eye spy, we touched down in the city that introduced Robb and I to each other.

Boots, WH Smith, Marks and Sparks…….. I hadn’t realized how much I’d missed them. I was so looking forward to buying my sandwiches from the chemist and introducing my kids to the delights of BO on the tube. We awoke to glorious sunshine, the Wimbledon final and a fry up. Then, after a $50 aud, 15 minute trip on BR ( now called something else)we were greeted by our lovely friends from a most fantastic era in our lives.

Xxx

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 4, 2011 in Diary

 

4 responses to “Ciao Italy and Hiya London.

  1. al

    July 4, 2011 at 8:06 am

    Sami g!

    I love reading of your adventures, you write beautifully (you always did). xxx

     
  2. al

    July 4, 2011 at 8:32 am

    We are foine. Back on the boat in 3 or so weeks… [think] I’m looking forward to it.?*&$%
    Your boys sound like they are taking this international travel caper all in their savy strides. x

     
    • sammygirlrox

      July 4, 2011 at 10:57 pm

      Glad to hear all is well. Yes the kids are taking it in their stride. Can’t help but wish they were a little more grateful for the opportunity… Gawd, I sound like my parents. Must say that I think Cooks rocks short hair.
      Thought of you often today as I trooped around London. Those were some fine days Ali g.
      Xxx

       

Leave a Reply

 
